Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Customer Service | Tearsheets | Media Kit | Home RSS

Local students will be honored at Academic Excellence Awards Banquet Sunday

June 7, 2012
Adirondack Daily Enterprise

LAKE PLACID - A banquet honoring area seniors who have proven themselves academically by finishing high school in the top 15 percent of their classes will be held at 1:30 p.m. Sunday at the Crowne Plaza Conference Center and Resort on Olympic Drive.

Students will be recognized by their district administrators and receive certificates and engraved medals celebrating their success. The entertainment will be provided by the Salmon River High School Instrumental Band under the direction of Ms. Cindy Healy.

This celebration of academic excellence will be highlighted by an address given by Steve Tyrell, president of North Country Community College.

Tyrell has a PhD in rhetoric and technical communication from Michigan Tech, a Master of Arts degree in educational administration and supervision and a Bachelor of Science in speech communication, both from SUNY New Paltz. He comes to the Tri-Lakes region from Alfred State College, where he has been the vice president for Student Affairs since 2004. Prior to Alfred State College, he served as associate dean for student discipline at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, associate dean for student affairs at Michigan Tech and in various positions in residence life, student activities and student union operations at SUNY New Paltz.

Students from the member districts of the Franklin, Essex and Hamilton Counties Sole Supervisory District - Brushton-Moira, Chateaugay, Lake Placid, Malone, Long Lake, St. Regis Falls, Salmon River, Saranac Lake, and Tupper Lake school districts - will be honored at the banquet.


Saranac Lake Central School

Valedictorian: Summer Lee Schneider

Salutatorian: Jacqueline Nicole Trudeau

Skylar Shae Dell

Erin Marie Donaldson

Marisa Elizabeth Farmer

William Leonard Fieroh

Kaytlin L. Gochenaur

Leah Marie Kleist

Gabrielle Patrice Lewis

Jackson G. Rockefeller

Tyler Noah Rondeau

Emily Georgia Jane Shrope

Jamaal Coston Tuthill

Jazzmyn Kiana Tuthill


Tupper Lake Central School

Valedictorian: Kelsie St. Louis

Salutatorian: Robbie LaLonde

Samantha Sanford

Katelyn Jessie

Kelly Doolen

Rick LaLonde

Tana Morgan

Bryan Geiger

Pierson St. Pierre

Carley Aldridge

Jonah Moeller

Brandon Ellis


Lake Placid Central School

Valedictorian: Megan Borland

Salutatorian: Ayla Thompson

Joanna Politi

Kirsti Bruce

Robert Gregory

Emily McConvey

Lucy Mitchell

Danielle Balestrini

Olivia Dempsey


Long Lake Central School

Salutatorian: Zachary Ruland

Samuel Miller



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web